10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Eberhard Weber


  • Type CD
  • Label ECM
  • UPC 0602527196381
  • Catalog number ECM 2719638
  • Release date 04 January 2010
Physical (CD)

Free shipping in the EU, outside the EU from €5,-

Available at ECM
go to ECM site

Get the album digitally

High resolution download Spirit of Turtle iTunes

About the album

  • These three Eberhard Weber CDs incorporate all the music made for ECM by his innovative group Colours.     
  • Drawn from the albums “Yellow Fields”, “Silent Feet”, and “Little Movements”, recorded 1975 to 1980, produced by Manfred Eicher.
  • All three discs have been out of print for some time: their return will be welcomed by Weber’s many supporters.
  • Box includes extensive liner notes by Michael Tucker, based on interviews with the musicians, and rare archive photos.  
  • Released in time for presentation of the Albert Mangelsdorff Preis – Germany’s biggest jazz award - to Eberhard Weber for his life’s work. Presentation is on November 6 in Berlin, with Manfred Schoof giving the laudatio.     
  • The “Colours” box set is the latest instalment in ECM’s highly acclaimed Old and New Masters series which has previously featured state-of-the-art music productions with Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea and Gary Burton, Steve Kuhn and Codona. Beautiful Collectors’ Editions all, they make perfect Christmas presents.     

Colours was formed in 1975, initially to take music from Weber’s award-winning album “The Colours of Chloe” (Grosser Deutscher Schallplattenpreis in 1975) on the road, but quickly took on a special identity of its own, drawing on the exceptional talents of the participants and touching on jazz improvisation, rock energy, contemporary composition, diverse world musics and the pulse patterns of minimalism. The group line-up featured the great US jazz saxophonist Charlie Mariano, who had played with Charles Mingus, Stan Kenton and McCoy Tyner and travelled through Asia researching diverse music traditions. On keyboards was Rainer Brüninghaus whose keyboards bring together classical sensibilities and a jazzman’s sense for spontaneous arrangement and sound colour. Jon Christrensen drummed on “Yellow Fields”, continuing the relationship begun with Eberhard in Ralph Towner’s Solstice band. For “Silent Feet” and “Little Movements”, British drummer John Marshall was drafted into the line-up: Marshall had been exploring similar sonic territory in his work between jazz and rock with the Soft Machine. And of course throughout all three disc there is the uniquely arresting sound of Eberhard Weber’s custzomized upright electric bass. After the disbanding of Colours, Eberhard Weber and Rainer Brüninghaus became part of the most popular of all European jazz-influenced ensembles, the Jan Garbarek Group. (Indeed Brüninghaus continues to play with Garbarek today, and is currently in the middle of a long tour with the saxophonist. )   Complete Colours tracklist:   CD 1: Yellow Fields (ECM 1066) Touch / Sand-Glass / Yellow Fields / Left Lane   CD 2: Silent Feet (ECM 1107) Seriously Deep / Silent Feet / Eyes that Can See in the Dark   CD 3: Little Movements (ECM 1186) The Last Stage Of A Long Journey / Bali /A Dark Spell / Little Movements /“No Trees?” He said   All compositions by Eberhard Weber, except “Bali” by Rainer Brüninghaus

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.