Goffredo Petrassi / Ottorino Respighi / Alfredo Casella / Giorgio Federico Ghedini / Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari

Orchestre de la Societe des Concerts du Conservatoire

Italian Orchestral Music

Get notified when available
  • Type CD
  • Label Australian Eloquence
  • UPC 0028948053742
  • Catalog number ELQ 4805374
  • Release date 29 March 13

About the album

Five composers, three LPs, an all-Italian, all-rare 2CD compendium. Fernando Previtali’s orchestral recordings for Decca of music by Respighi, Casella, Ghedini, Petrassi and Casella were recorded in July 1956 and had a relatively short lifespan. Other than Respighi’s Pines of Rome, the remaining music was then – as it is now – largely unfamiliar to the concert-going and record-buying public. Another disc of late-19th/early-20th century orchestral music, conducted by Nello Santi, of some particularly piquant music by Wolf-Ferrari completes what is bound to be a much sought-after release.

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.