Get a 10% discount on your
next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a promotion code for 10% discount on a album of your choice!

The promotion code will be send to your e-mail address. The code is valid one time and valid for a month after receiving the promotioncode. Your e-mailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions, please use go to our FAQ or contact us.

Zwerm (Guitar Quartet)

Underwater Princess Waltz

€ 19.95
Add to cart
  • Type CD
  • Label New World Records
  • UPC 0093228074823
  • Catalog number NW 80748
  • Release date 04 November 13

About the album

The “one-page piece”—a written-down musical composition that fits on a single piece of paper—is appealing
to a group like the Belgian/Dutch electric guitar quartet Zwerm. Zwerm and their collaborators took full
advantage of the opportunity to create their own scores out of the one-page pieces, to allow their own
creativity and compositional ideas to run free, to explore interesting sound worlds, and to seek out possible
links between the pieces. These positive experiences are inherent to the format of the one-page piece: a
composer provides a musical idea, in traditional notation, prose, graphics, or some combination of all three;
sometimes this idea is rough or conceptual, sometimes more clear in its musical content and process. The rest
is up to the musicians. Collaborative brainstorming is necessary, and many ideas might be tried out before
settling on a particular way of realizing the piece; often, the possibilities seem endless, limited only by one’s
conventional training, adherence to idiomatic instrumental techniques, and musical sensibilities. This
collaborative brainstorming works best when the ensemble is made up of adventurous musicians who trust
each other.

One-page pieces fall into the category of process pieces. With roots in the history of American
experimental music, both process pieces and one-page pieces are sometimes traced back to Terry Riley’s
minimalist masterpiece In C of 1964. The recordings on this CD represent a crossover project in which Zwerm
looks for connections between the sound worlds of blues, free improvisation, experimental rock, noise,
minimalism, and many other contemporary musical ideas.

  • 1
    Gauss Cannon
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Underwater Princess Waltz
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Her Waltzing with Her
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Mayhem (the hammer)
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Burdocks, Pt. VII
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    tween (k-tood #2)
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Mayhem (the arrow)
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    round round down
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    The Red and White Cows
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    December 1952
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Mayhem (the blade)
    Composer: Various
  • 1
    Time Goes By
    Composer: Various

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.


Related products

The $100 Guitar Project

The $100 Guitar Project

Various Artists

Alex Skolnick / Nels Cline / Fred Frith / David Starobin / Nick Didkovsky / Rhys Chatham / Taylor Levine / Elliott Sharp / Marco Cappelli / Zwerm / Henry Kaiser / Andy Aledort / Greg Anderson / Ron Anderson / Joe Berger / Michael Bierylo / Biota / Blancah / Joe Bouchard / Bill Brovold / Phil Burk / Juan Parra Cancino / Marty Carlson / Kobe Van Cauwenberghe / Barry Cleveland / Amy Denio / Jon Diaz / Thomas Dimuzio / Bruce Eisenbeil / Karl Evangelista / Janet Feder / Caroline Feldmeier / Ken Field / Wiek Hijmans / Mark Hitt / Raymond T. Kallas / Mike Keneally / Jesse Krakow / Jesse Kranzler / Mike Lerner / David Linaburg / Josh Lopes / Steve MacLean / Tom Marsan / Colin Marston / Ava Mendoza / Julia A. Miller / Roger C. Miller / James Moore / Chris Murphy / Chuck O’Meara / Marco Oppedisano / Kai Niggeman / Han-earl Park / Shawn Persinger is Prester John / Larry Polansky / Del Rey / Teisco Del Rey / Bob Spalding / Keith Rowe / John Shiurba / Mark Solomon / Mark Stewart / Hans Tammen / Matt Wilson / Bruce Zeines
€ 32.95
Add to cart