Michael Tilson Thomas & San Francisco Symphony

Beethoven: Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II & Symphony No. 2

€ 23.95
Add to cart
  • Type SACD
  • Label Avie
  • UPC 0821936005828
  • Catalog number SFS 0058
  • Release date 18 July 14

About the album

Beethoven’s colossal Cantata on the Death of Emperor Jospeh II for chorus, soloists, and orchestra, and his playful, upbeat Second Symphony are combined on this powerful new live recording by 15-time Grammy Award-winning San Francisco Symphony and Chorus. Rarely performed and recorded, the gripping and profoundly moving funeral cantata, composed by a teenage Beethoven, proved a revelation during MTT’s and the Symphony’s May 2013 Beethoven Project. Presented as a premium audio hybrid SACD, this release joins the growing critically acclaimed discography of Beethoven recordings by MTT and SFS. 

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.