10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Our Edison Award 2014 Winners!


We are pleased to announce our winners of the 2014 Edison Awards: the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra, the Dutch National Opera, Goeyvaerts String Trio and the Dino Saluzzi Group. Read more about our stunning musicians below: 

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra - CLASSICAL Oeuvre-award 
Last Sunday 23rd of November the Edison Foundation gave the Classical 2014 Oeuvre-award to the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra. This award aknowledges the extraordinary work they have contributed to the Dutch music scene. 
The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1945 by Albert van Raalte. The orchestra was hereafter led successively by Paul van Kempen, Bernard Haitink, Jean Fournet, Willem van Otterloo, Hans Vonk, Sergiu Comissiona, Edo de Waart and Jaap van Zweden. Season 2012-2013, Markus Stenz was appointed as chef-conductor. American conductor James Gaffigan has since been conductor and will conduct the orchestra until the end of the season. All-in-all, the orchestra has built an extensive discography, with many outstanding highlights. For this reason, is the award a rightful acknowledgement for the many recordings the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra has made.

Dutch National Opera - CLASSICAL Category Opera (Schreker – Der Schatzgräber)
The Dutch National Opera has won the Edison award for the category The Opera. The Dutch National Opera (DNO) is the Netherland's biggest opera company and is based in the National Opera & Ballet. DNO has grown to be one of Europe's most prominent and progressive opera companies. 

Goeyvaerts String Trio - CLASSICAL Category Chamber music (Pärt, Moody – Stabat Matar, Simeron)
The Goeyvaerts String Trio was founded in 1997 and focuses exclusively on 20th and 21st century repertoire. The name comes from Flemish composer Karel Goeyvaerts (1923-1993) who has played a great role in the fundamental changes in European music. The programma, performed by this trio was mainly built around the exceptionally extensive works written for String Trio's, originally based on Belgian composers.
The jury says: "The Goeyvaerts String Trio makes Pärt’s Stabat Mater bloom as never before: crystal clear and full of overtones. Also Simeron of Ivan Moody, composed for the trio, is played and sung in an unbelievably impressive way." 

Dino Saluzzi Group - JAZZ Category World (El Valle De La Infancia)
Argentinean bandoneonist/composer/improviser Dino Saluzzi returns to his roots with El Valle de la Infancia. Recorded at Saluzzi Music Studios in Buenos Aires, it’s the first of his discs to feature his “family band” since 2005’s Juan Condori. Here Dino is heard with his brother Felix on tenor sax and clarinet, his son José María on guitars, and nephew Matías on basses.

Nominees JAZZ Public Choice Award 
For the Jazz Public Choice Award are i.a. nominated Bart Wirtz and Kapok. The winner will be announced during the Edison Jazz / World Gala.

Edison Philharmonic Jukebox
The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra has taken the initiative to present their new concert formula during the Buma Classical Convention. During the Edison Philharmonic Jukebox, the musicians, together with chef-conductor Markus Stenz, will provide the audience an evening in which the very best and biggest classical numbers will play the lead. The audience gets the chance to decide what will be played during the Edison Philharmonic Jukebox. The final concert will be recorded by the NTR and aired on Sunday the 30th of November 2014 at the NTR Stage. Tickets are available via www.bumaclassicalconvention.nl. At different times and places during the Buma Classical Convention all awards will be presented to all winners at the Buma Classical Convention in TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht. 

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.