10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Saxophonist, composer and band leader Tineke Postma wins the Buma Boy Edgarprijs 2015


The Buma Boy Edgarprijs, the most important Dutch prize for jazz and improvised music, has been awarded to saxophonist, composer and band leader Tineke Postma. As part of the prize, Postma will curate a concert night at the Bimhuis on December 9, 2015. During that occasion she will be presented with the award, consisting of a sum of €12,500 and a sculpture made by Jan Wolkers.

That concert night in December will be broadcast on national radio VPRO
www.radio6.nl and tonight she will appear live in the TV talkshow JINEK at 23.00 hrs on NPO1! 

Since 2010 Postma works with Challenge Records where released two albums. In 2011 The Dawn Of Light, that brought her a Edison, and in 2014 the critically acclaimed album Sonic Halo, with American saxophonist Greg Osby.
Even before she graduated cum laude at the Conservatory of Amsterdam, Tineke Postma’s extraordinary talent was noted in The Netherlands and abroad. Technique, lyricism, a startling sense of harmony, innovative compositions and an instantly recognizable sound characterize the 1978 born saxophonist. She often travelled to New York to live and work there and become part of the local jazz scene. Thus she gradually built a name for herself in the Mecca of jazz. For American top notch musicians such as Geri Allen (piano), Terri Lyne Carrington (drums) and Esperanza Spalding (bass) it’s a creative challenge to work with her. With her former mentor saxophonist Greg Osby she leads the group Tineke Postma & Greg Osby Sonic Halo. She tours all over the world, also with her Dutch groups like the Tineke Postma Quartet. Postma has numerous prestigious music prizes to her name and received rave reviews for the six albums she released.
Excerpts from the jury report: 
Tineke Postma has a remarkable combination of cosmopolitanism and Dutch levelheadedness. How a modest Frisian musician made a career for herself with her own American band and collaborated with the best of the best.
…. both on alto and soprano saxophone her tone is direct and without adornment. Her luggage has no room for clichés, snags or frills, she picks her notes fastidiously relying on a great sense of melody and harmony.
Throughout her career the saxophonist has proved to be an excellent band leader…..
Due to her respect for other people’s talents, she leads her own groups with a sensitive and therefore natural authority – a quality that pays off in her sidemen’s contributions, surely lifting her ensembles to a higher level.
Notwithstanding the fact that Tineke Postma is an established name and an unmistakable ambassador of Dutch jazz, she disposes over enough individuality, guts, passion and potential to develop her own style of contemporary jazz both in The Netherlands and abroad.
The jury of the Buma Boy Edgarprijs 2015 consists of:
Micha de Kanter, Chairman (recording engineer of Mideka Music Recording)
Willem Kniknie, Secretary (director of MuziekPodium Zeeland, programmer of International Jazz Festival Middelburg)
Nicolle Leenhouwers (programmer of ProJazz, Jazz070 and the Cutting Edge Jazz Festival, The Hague)
Niels Nieuborg (programmer of the North Sea Jazz Club, Amsterdam)
Cees van de Ven (journalist/photographer of draaiomjeoren.com, programmer of the JazzCase, Neerpelt, Belgium)
The prize and its history
The Buma Boy Edgarprijs is awarded every year to an artist that has been distinguishing for quite some time because of his significant contribution, creatively, to the buoyancy of Dutch jazz and improvised music. The organisers of the Buma Boy Edgarprijs and the concert night are the Boy Edgarprijs Foundation together with the Bimhuis. Recent prize winners are Anton Goudsmit (2010), Ferdinand Povel (2011), Yuri Honing (2012), Oene van Geel (2013) and Jeroen van Vliet (2014).
For more information on the prize, the complete jury report, a biography and photo material of Tineke Postma, and an overview of earlier prize winners, go to www.bumaboyedgarprijs.nl.
The Buma Boy Edgarprijs 2015 is supported by main sponsor Buma and Sena.
VPRO Vrije Geluiden is media partner.

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.