10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Edmundo Ros & His Orchestra

Rare Transcription Recordings of the 1950s:Si Señor

  • Type CD
  • Label Vocalion
  • UPC 0765387625023
  • Catalog number CDEA 6250
  • Release date 01 January 2000
Physical (CD)

Free shipping in the EU, outside the EU from €5,-

Product is no longer available

Get the album digitally

High resolution download Spirit of Turtle iTunes

About the album

Programme nos. 14 (88902/3), 15 (88905), 16 (88906) – recorded at BBC Studios, London, summer 1955:

1 Theme – Cuban Love Song (Stothart; McHugh; Fields) & Spoken intro (Edmundo Ros) 
2 Tropical Merengue (Munoz; Elow; Marsh) 
4 Hot Potato Mambo (Snowhill; Patrick) vocal: Edmundo Ros & His Orchestra
6 Stars Shine in Your Eyes beguine (Rota; Parsons; Turner)
8 Luna Rossa tango (Vian; De Crescenzo)
10 Si Señor (Menéndez; Parsons) 
vocal: Inez del Carmen & Edmundo Ros 12 La Casita Portuguesa baion 
14 What’s the Time in Nicaragua? vocal: Edmundo Ros & His Orchestra
16 Moishe’s Mambo 
18 Under the Bridges of Paris (Scotto; Rodor; Cochran)
20 Batucada Si Señor 
22 Just another Mambo vocal: Edmundo Ros 
24 Blue Mirage (Olias; Coslow) arranger: Eric Spencer
26 Maringá baion (Carvalho) 
28 Ay-Ay-Ay (Freire) vocal: Inez del Carmen 
30 Estrellita del Sur (Rueda) 
32 Sixteen Tons (Travis) vocal: Edmundo Ros 
34 Capullito De Aleli rumba 
(Hernández; Drake; Shirl) trumpet: Jack Bassett
36 Theme – Cuban Love Song (Stothart; McHugh; Fields

Edmundo Ros & His Orchestra
Jack Bassett, Buzz Trueman, Wilf Kear (trumpets)
Bob Butcher, Bill Woiwood (alto saxes)
Ray Gibson (tenor sax); Ken Dryden (baritone sax)
Eric Spencer (piano/arranger); Len Argent (guitar)
Ken O’Donnell (bass); Ron Lord (drums)
Dudley Misso, Roy Shelton (Latin percussion)
Ronald Hanmer (arranger); Edmundo Ros (vocal/director)

(Click on a track title to listen)
  • 1

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.