"Everything in the universe has a rhythm, everything dances." - Maya Angelou

Gustav Rivinius

In 1990 Gustav Rivinius became the first German musician to win the Gold Medal at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Ever since then, he has performed solo concertos with a great number of renowned orchestras in Germany and abroad. Apart from those solo appearances, Rivinius is passionately devoted to chamber music, concertizing on a regular basis with renowned colleagues such as Lars Vogt, Christian Tetzlaff, Antje Weithaas, and Sharon Kam. Rivinius is a founding member of the Trio Gasparo da Salò, the Bartholdy String Quintet, and the Tammuz Piano Quartet. Apart from standard repertoire, he is intensely devoted to the performance of contemporary music. Gustav Rivinius is Professor of Cello at the University of Music Saar (Saarbrücken).

Featured on

Mendelssohn, String Quintets
Bartholdy Quintett
Soloists Of The Spannungen Festival 2016, Sextets
String Quintets
Bartholdy Quintet
Dvorák: Dumky; Zypressen; Shostakovich: Piano Trio No. 1
Christian Tetzlaff
Boulanger . Hindemith . Debussy
Wanzhen Li; Tanja Tetzlaff; Gunilla Süssmann; Alina Imbragimowa; Lars Vogt; Gustav Rivinius; Anna Rita Hitaj; Christian Tetzlaff; Volker Jacobsen; Bartolomew LaFollette