"The music is not in the notes, but in the silence between." - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Benoît Laurent

Benoît Laurent studied recorder, baroque oboe, and modern oboe in Belgium (with Frédéric de Roos, Paul Dombrecht, and Sylvain Cremers). Afterwards he continued his studies with Michael Niesemann at the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg.

In 2008 he was a prizewinner in the renowned competition Musica Antiqua in Bruges. Benoît Laurent is Professor of Baroque oboe at the Conservatoire Royal in Brussels. He makes regular appearances with well-known orchestras and ensembles: B’rock, Anima Eterna, Les Musiciens du Prince, Collegium Vocale Gent, and Concerto Köln, among others.

With his ensemble « Lingua Franca » Benoit Laurent has produced numerous recordings on Ricercar. Additional recordings of note are: the oboe concertos of Giuseppe Sammartini with the ensemble "Les Muffatti" (Ramée, 201 1 ), an oboe concerto by Ludwig August Lebrun with the baroque orchestra "Les Agremens" (Ricercar, 201 1 ), as well as the concerto for oboe and violin by J.S. Bach with the Basler Kammerorchester (Deutsche Harmonia Mundi, 201 4).

Featured on

Quintets for Pianoforte & Winds
WOLF & Anthony Romaniuk
Mr Handel's Musicians
Benoît Laurent