Challenge Records Int. Logo
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley

Icelandic violinist Sólveig Steinþórsdóttir made her solo debut with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra in 2013, playing the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto. She has since been featured as a soloist with various orchestras in Iceland, Germany, Italy and Switzerland, performing works by Vivaldi, Bach, Saint-Saëns, Sarasate, Chausson and Sibelius. Sólveig regularly gives recitals and chamber music concerts in Iceland and across mainland Europe.

She has participated in master classes with Augustin Hadelich, Alexander Markov, Shlomo Mintz, Hagai Shaham among others. 

Sólveig started playing the violin at the age of three at the Allegro music school in Reykjavík with Lilja Hjaltadóttir and later studied with Guðný Guðmundsdóttir at the Reykjavík College of Music. She completed a bachelor’s degree at the Berlin University of the Arts studying with Erika Geldsetzer and a master’s degree at the Zurich University of the Arts with Rudolf Koelman, both with distinction.

Sólveig has received grants from the Lyra Foundation Switzerland, the S. Eustachius Foundation Switzerland, the Rotary Foundation of Iceland and the Ingjaldssjóður Scholarship from the University of Iceland. 

She plays on a violin made in 2011 by Icelandic luthier Hans Jóhannsson.

Featured on

Eugène Ysaÿe
Solo Violin Sonatas 1-6 Op. 27
Sólveig SteinÞórsdóttir