10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.
Laetitia van Krieken/Anton Goudsmit

Laetitia van Krieken Big Bang


  • Type CD
  • Label Challenge Records
  • UPC 0608917327427
  • Catalog number CR 73274
  • Release date 05 September 2008

About the album

Angelo Verploegen: trumpet, fluegelhorn | Mete Erker: soprano & tenor sax, bass clarinet | Rolf Delfos: soprano & alto sax | Jasper Blom: soprano & tenor sax, clarinet | Hans Sparla: trombone | Jeffrey Bruinsma, Herman van Haaren: violin | Benjamin von Gutzeit: viola | Annie Tangberg: cello | Laetitia van Krieken: piano | Ferhan Otay: guitar | Gulli Gudmundsson: bass | Pascal Vermeer: drums“Many musicians in the field of jazz or improvised music compose material as a vehicle for improvisation; nothing wrong with that, but.....having been a composer my whole life, it is rare to have the experience like that I had listening for the first time to the Van Krieken Big Bang; the sensation of discovering a ‘real composer’.
Nevertheless, composing and arranging on this level is not enough for a composer-leader in the field of jazz, but all that, along with an inherently great intuition for choosing
the right and highly-talented musicians that are members of this Big Bang makes Laetitia van Krieken a great jazz-composer with a bright future.”
(Theo Loevendie, liner notes)  Laetitia van Krieken’s Big Bang came into being in 2005 and in December of that year she received an invitation to perform her music with her 13 piece ensemble at the Festival ‘Stranger than Paranoia’. Her music is rooted in the European music-tradition, combining the influences of classical-, jazz/improvisation- and popmusic. In November 2007 The Lewinsky Quartet released it’s new cd for Challenge Records with three compositions of Laetitia van Krieken. Line-up: Rolf Delfos (sax) Arno Krijger (hammond organ), Anton Goudsmit (guitar), Pascal Vermeer (drums).      

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.