10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Lorenda Ramou / Ensemble Coriolis

Music for piano and string quartet

  • Type CD
  • Label ECM New Series
  • UPC 0028948109883
  • Catalog number ECM 4810988
  • Release date 24 October 2014

About the album

Athens-born and Munich-based composer Konstantia Gourzi makes her ECM New Series label debut. “What historical voices commingle in the current idiom of a composer whose cultural roots lie in the birthplace of rhetoric, but who emigrated to take a musical apprenticeship in European constructivism?” asks Ingrid Allwardt in the liner notes. “What wordless airs, echoes of past ages, thread their way into the present day of her instrumental songs?” Music for piano and string quartet, supplies the answers. With the exception of the early „noch fürcht’ ich”, composed in 1993, all the music is of recent vintage. It includes a number of piano miniatures, pieces dedicated to Lachenmann, Kurtág, Raue, Abbado, Barenboim and Rexroth, two string quartets, and works for string quartet and piano. Pianist Lorenda Ramou and the Ensemble Coriolis deliver committed performances. The album was recorded in Munich’s Himmelfahrtskirche in 2012, and produced by Manfred Eicher.

  • 1
    Eine kleine Geschichte Op. 25
  • 1
    P-ILION, neun fragmente einer Ewigkeit Streichquartett Nr.2 Op. 33/2
  • 1
    Aiolos Wind, six piano pieces, Op. 41
  • 1
    Israel, Streichquartett Nr. 1, Op. 19
  • 1
    “noch fürcht’ ich“, sieben Miniaturen für Klavier solo Op. 8
  • 1
    Vibrato 1, für Streichquartett plus Klavier Op. 38
  • 1
    Klavierstücke I-V, 5 Miniaturen für Klavier solo, Op. 24
  • 1
    Vibrato 2, für Streichquartett plus Klavier, Op. 38

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.