10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Ted Heath

Vol. 9 - Rare Transcription Recordings of the 1960s. Reviewing the Situation

  • Type CD
  • Label Vocalion
  • UPC 0765387624422
  • Catalog number CDEA 6244
  • Release date 01 January 2000
Physical (CD)

Free shipping in the EU, outside the EU from €5,-

Product is no longer available

Get the album digitally

High resolution download Spirit of Turtle iTunes

About the album

Programme no. 78 (104886)� recorded at BBC Studios, London, summer 1960:

1 Spoken intro (David Jacobs & Ted Heath)
& Theme � Listen to My Music (Heath)
2 With Sword and Lance (Starke)
4 Midnight Sun (Burke; Hampton; Mercer)
arranger: Johnny Keating
alto saxes: Les Gilbert, Ronnie Chamberlain
6 Reviewing the Situation (Bart) 
8 With a Song in My Heart (Rodgers; Hart) arranger: Alan Bristow; alto sax: Les Gilbert
10 September in the Rain (Warren; Dubin) arranger: Ralph Dollimore; tenor sax: Bob Efford
12 The Very Thought of You (Noble) 
clarinet: Henry Mackenzie
14 The Lonesome Road (Shilkret; Austin) 
arranger: Bill Oliver; clarinet: Henry Mackenzie tenor sax: Bob Efford 16 The Anniversary Waltz (Franklin; Dubin) 
arranger: Don Innes
18 When the Saints Go Marching In (Trad) 
arranger: Johnny Keating; tenor sax: Bob Efford alto sax: Ronnie Chamberlain

Programme no. 79 (104887) � recorded at BBC Studios, London, summer 1960:

20 Slaughter on Tenth Avenue (Rodgers) 
22 East of the Sun (Bowman) arranger: Dave Rose 
24 Mighty Lak� a Rose (Nevin; Stanton) 
arranger: Frank Horrox; piano: Derek Warne
26 Sand in My Shoes (Schertzinger; Loesser)
arranger: Max Harris
28 La Mer (Trenet; Lasry) arranger: Reg Owen 
30 Escape Route (Graham) 
32 Satin Doll (Ellington; Strayhorn; Mercer) 
arranger: Johnny Keating; bass clarinet: Bob Efford clarinet: Henry Mackenzie
34 Blues for Jumbo (Courtley)
arranger: Bert Courtley
36 Ring dem Bells (Ellington; Mills) 
tenor sax: Bob Efford

Programme no. 80 (104888) � recorded at BBC Studios, London, summer 1960:

38 Why Don�t You Do Right? (McCoy)
clarinet: Henry Mackenzie; tenor sax: Bob Efford
40 I Know Why (Warren; Gordon) 
trumpet: Bert Ezard
42 You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby 
(Warren; Mercer) arranger: Johnny Hawksworth clarinet: Henry Mackenzie (with the trombone and rhythm section only)
44 Perfidia (Dominguez; Cugat; Heagney; Leeds)
arranger: Max Harris soprano sax: Ronnie Chamberlain
46 Lush Slide (Lusher) 
arranger: Don Lusher; trombone: Don Lusher
48 Unchained Melody (North; Zaret) 
arranger: Ken Moule; soprano sax: Ronnie Chamberlain
50 It�s a Most Unusual Day (McHugh; Adamson) 
arranger: Derek Warne
52 I�m in the Mood for Love (McHugh; Fields) 
54 Jamaica Man (Graham)
55 Ted Heath�s spoken sign off & Theme � Listen to My Music (Heath)
3, 5 etc. Ted Heath�s spoken intros

(Click on a track title to listen)
  • 1

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.