10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.
Stefano Scodanibbio

Daniele Roccato | Ludus Gravis Ensemble


  • Type CD
  • Label ECM New Series
  • UPC 0028948170418
  • Catalog number ECM 4817041
  • Release date 12 October 2018

About the album

Stefano Scodanibbio (1956-2012) created extraordinary music for double bass. Alisei (Trade Winds) features his compositions for solo bass, for two basses, and for bass ensemble.  Among them is a world premiere recording of Otetto, an often breath-taking compendium of all the extended techniques he invented or developed throughout his life. “It is his great spiritual legacy”, says Danielle Roccato, who co-founded the Ludus Gravis bass ensemble  with Scodanibbio. As solo  performer, Roccato rises to  the challenges of Due Pezzi Brilanti, a piece which pushes virtuosity to its limits, and “makes the bass sing in its on true voice” on the title composition. Da Una Certa Nebbia, for two basses, also a premiere recording, pays implicit tribute to the work of Morton Feldman.

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.