10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.

Paul Motian


  • Type CD
  • Label ECM
  • UPC 0602567434795
  • Catalog number ECM 6743479
  • Release date 17 May 2019

About the album

The combination of Paul Motian and Charlie Haden was always a guarantee for magical improvisational interaction, and there is much of it in this attractive line-up with the twinned guitars of Sam Brown and Paul Metzke and Carlos Ward’s alto sax. Motian and Haden had previously collaborated with Brown on Keith Jarrett’s Expectations album and on Carla Bley’s Escalator Over The Hill, and the bassist and drummer had also worked with Carlos Ward on Don Cherry’s Relativity Suite. Paul Metzke joined up with Motian after stints with Gato Barbieri’s band and Tony Wiliams’s Lifetime. The team moves sensitively through Motian’s tunes, Haden’s “Song for Che”, and Ornette Coleman’s ”War Orphans”. Down Beat: “A landmark in the career of an outstanding percussionist… 5 Stars”. Recorded 1974.

  • 1
  • 1
    Tuesday Ends Saturday
  • 1
    War Orphans
  • 1
    Sod House
  • 1
    Song for Che

Het legendarische Jarrett-Haden-Motian trio


image Al vanaf de eerste noten, met een stralend heldere pianoklank, is het duidelijk: dit is een bijzondere en historische uitgave! Het gaat om een nog niet eerder uitgebracht live concert uit 1972 in Hamburg (NDR Funkhaus) van het legendarische trio Keith Jarrett, Charlie Haden en Paul Motian. Manfred Eicher gebruikte de originele tapes en maakte een nieuwe mix van de muziek met Jan Erik Kongshaug afgelopen zomer in Oslo.    Dit trio was ...

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.