10% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a personal discount code for 10% discount on a album of your choice! After subscribing, you will receive the code in your email. This code is only valid for 10 days!

The code is valid one time and valid for a 10 days after receiving the promotioncode. Your emailaddress will only be used by Challenge Records International and will not be given to 3rd party advertisers. If you have any questions please contact us.
César Franck

The Schubert Ensemble

Piano Quintet & Violin Sonata

  • Type CD
  • Label Champs Hill
  • UPC 5060212590046
  • Catalog number CHRCD 004
  • Release date 01 July 2010

About the album

This album from the renowned Schubert Ensemble bring the spirit of the Paris "Belle Epoque" alive. Newly re-mastered recordings of Franck's Piano Quintet in F minor and his Sonata for violin & piano in A are performed with enthusiasm by the experienced Schuberts.

Franck was known as a man "enamoured of gentleness and consolation", but these works tell a different story of an earthier man, less chaste, freed of starch and wing collar. Central to the quintet in particular was a woman; not Franck's dutiful wife, but a young student, Augusta Holmes "decorously rampant and possessed of bold beautiful features, abundant golden hair, and handsome breasts of which she was justifiably proud". Rimsky-Korsakov admired her, but in Paris, Saint-Saens and Franck fought over her. Franck's wife would have known that the emotions so readily expressed in this Quintet were not for her, but for Augusta, Franck's "impure and seductive" organ student.

  • 1
    Quintet for Piano and Strings In F Minor : I. Molto Moderato Quasi Lento - Allegro
  • 1
    Quintet for Piano and Strings In F Minor : II. Lento, Con Molto Sentimento
  • 1
    Quintet for Piano and Strings In F Minor : III. Allegro Non Troppo, Ma Con Fuoco
  • 1
    Sonata for Violin and Piano In A : I. Allegretto Ben Moderato
  • 1
    Sonata for Violin and Piano In A : II. Allegro
  • 1
    Sonata for Violin and Piano In A : III. Recitativo - Fantasia
  • 1
    Sonata for Violin and Piano In A : IV. Allegretto Poco Mosso

Add a comment

We need to make sure that you are really an human, please enter the code below.